Government to create five new districts

Government to create five new districts

France Parliament Pics.PNG

Parliament of Ghana

Government has presented nine Legislative Instruments to Parliament seeking to create five new districts in the country.

The new districts will be the Klottey Korle District and Ayawaso Central Districts from the Accra Metropolitan Assembly, the North East Gonja District from the existing East Gonja District, Achiase District from the Birim South District and Anloga district from the existing Keta Municipality.

This is after Parliament, in 2017, passed a Bill to allow the creation of 38 new districts, which the Local Government Ministry said at the time, will help bring development closer to the people.

The new list presented, notably includes one district to be created from the Volta Region. The 38 new districts created did not include a district in the Volta Region.

The LIs have been referred to the Subsidiary Legislation and Local Government Committees for consideration by the Speaker.

Deputy Local Government Minister, Augustine Collins Ntim who laid the LIs in Parliament on behalf the sector Minister, explained the need for the new districts before the House.

“At the beginning of the year, the government realized there was the need for us to upgrade some districts with more than two consistencies so there was the create an additional 38.”

“Going forward, it became necessary from the recommendations coming from the public that there is the need to also have a second look into some of the districts uplifting some of the constituencies; about five of them, into a district status,” Mr. Ntim said.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *